Random People Thoughts

People are funny (myself included). Here are a few of the people I encountered during the last two weeks.

The other day I overheard four janitors talking about the space-time continuum. Apparently, they had first-hand information about secret government test programs where scientist were on the verge of breaking the light-speed barrier. They reasoned that once this is accomplished it will be a simple matter to traverse the stars. Of course, according to these janitorial experts, people will need to get used to having their bodies disfigured during such journeys (an obvious side effect of travel at such speeds). They shouldn’t worry, however, because once travelers return to regular space-time their bodies will return to normal. Unfortunately, as proved by the theory of relativity, travelers will experience time differently than non-travelers. This will cause emotional struggles as the world they return to will undoubtedly be different than the one they left.

I didn’t know they taught such things in janitor school. Go figure. 🙂

I met a man in passing today who must be very sad. As he walked by me we made eye contact. To be polite I asked, “How are you doing?” His reply has stuck with me all day: “Oh… I suppose things could be worse, but I’m not sure how.”

I wish I could sit down and talk with him about what makes him so sad.

Today, I was gossiped about by someone I respect. Yesterday, I gossiped about someone who respects me.

Someone saw me reading, “The Shack”. They asked about the book. I told them about what I had read so far. . . a guy’s daughter gets kidnapped and murdered, he lives with the pain for years before getting an invitation in the mail from God to meet him at the shack where his daughter was killed. Once there, he meets God. . . who happens to remind me of Aunt Jemima.

From the look on her face, I gathered the woman was sorry she asked about the book.

My father-in-law, my daughter, and I went to a museum. My father-in-law spent part of the tour correcting our tour-guide.

Poor tour-guide.

Leave a Reply

