Cardboard Testimonies

A few weeks ago I used “Cardboard Testimonies” during a sermon at CPC. Many churches have done these moving testaments to God’s grace. Check out some of these YouTube vidoes if you don’t know what I’m talking about.

Many, many people responded during our first service by coming forward and writing their own testimonies. Interestingly, no one came forward in the second service. I’m not sure what that means, but it’s interesting.

But one response really stands out to me in a BIG way. It happened later that afternoon in my garage. My eight-year-old daughter, Kaleigh, and her friend Luka, apparently had a spiritual discussion about that morning’s sermon while they were playing. I guess they were listening more than I realized, because later that night as I was clearing out the garage to make room for our van, I found a cardboard testimony that she had written that afternoon. It tore me up!

Here are pictures of the front and back of her testimony (I’ve also included subtitles if you can’t read her handwriting or decipher her spelling).

Before Jesus

img_0083

I can’t tell you how much this thrills me; both as a dad and as a preacher. As a dad, I’m overwhelmed to know that my daughter gets it! She actually gets that God’s grace in her life leads her to obedience. She sees (in her limited, eight-year-old way) that Jesus makes things better!

As a preacher, it’s nice to know that someone is listening.

Leave a Reply

