Still Praying

Several weeks ago I heard Jim Cymbala talk about how when we pray things often get worse before they get better. He taught that we must continue to relentlesly pray. At the time I thought, “Nice lesson.” But I didn’t think much else about it. Boy am I glad I heard that lesson!

Lately I’ve been praying . . . I mean REALLY PRAYING. . . about a certain part of my life. I fought off doubts. I prayed more fervently when the odds seemed overwhelming. I claimed God’s promises to answer prayers of faith. I read biblical passages of victory when defeat seemed inevitable. And I was doing great. I was feeling confident in God. My faith was growing. But then the phone rang.

At 10:14 PM on Thursday night the phone rang. That began an avalanch of text messages and phone conversations that lasted for the next ninety minutes. When it was over, all I could do was cry. The very thing I had prayed fervently about was crumbling. I couldn’t sleep that night. I couldn’t see a way out. I still can’t.

But then something happened. In the midst of my raging at God for not answering my prayers the way I wanted them answered, I remembered Jim Cymbala’s lesson that sometimes, when we REALLY pray, things get worse before they get better.

I still don’t see the solution. Things are worse now than they were at 10:13 PM Thursday night.

But I’m still praying.

One response to “Still Praying

  1. It appears that you’re getting dangerously close to the center of His will.

    It gets calmer when the center of the storm passes directly over, and you can see clearly. Straight up!

    You know the saying, ‘Sometimes the Lord calms the storm. Sometimes He lets the storm rage and calms His child’. That’s true — but sometimes He lets it blow like a son of a gun — until our tent pegs are loose.

    Comprende?

Leave a Reply

