Accountability

Accountability.

It’s one of those words that church people throw around. But it’s also one of those things that’s tough to do on a regular basis.

Think about it. Do you REALLY want to be accountable for every word you say? Every thought you think and  dollar you spend? Do you REALLY want someone to know you THAT well?

I can’t tell you how many people have come to me and said, “Hey, Dan. If you ever want to unburden yourself to me; you know, use me as a sounding board to tell stuff to, I’m here for you. You can tell me anything. You’re secrets are safe with me.”

I RUN from these people as fast as I can.

I’ve learned (the hard way) that usually when people want you to be accountable to them they have their interest at heart, not yours.

BUT when accountability happens naturally it is an incredible blessing.

Last week I was visiting with someone who in one conversation provided me with amazing accountability. He cared enough about me to say some things I needed to hear. They could not have been easy things to say, but this person risked our relationship to say them anyway. He knew me well enough to know what to say and how to say it. He didn’t need me to tell him my secrets because he already knew what was in my heart. . . . He knew what was in my heart even before I did.

And when he told me about me it was one of the most freeing experiences I’ve had in a long time. It was as if he took a huge weight off my back. He confronted me in my weaknesses and consoled me in my pains.

So, yes, I REALLY do want someone to know me that well.

Watch out for those who want you to be accountable to them; but do everything you can to find someone who knows you well enough to confront you with the “truth of you”.

Leave a Reply

